Mentour Forum

What do pilots consider fun/boring after many years?  

RSS

Sandpatch
(@sandpatch)
03/08/2019 10:52 pm  

As everyone knows a job becomes more boring after many years of always doing the same thing. This is also related to pilots. As an aviation geek I have always wondered, what do pilots in general still find fun after many years of experience? Or the opposite might also be interesting, what parts of the job make you dislike your career choice more?

Regards,

Manfred

Deck officer at sea

Devin Madren
(@mad78)
11/11/2019 11:52 pm  

I currently work at an FBO with the short term goal of learning as much as I can about the corporate and luxury private side of aviation, before I commit to applying for the loans required to complete my commercial flight training. I am not a professional pilot, so I can only speculate on the boring tasks or mundane and routine responsibilities of the corporate and private piloting world. 

I have seen pilots who get off their aircraft with huge smiles on their faces and a cheery attitude, and I have seen grumpy and tired pilots that step off with little enthusiasm if I get a greeting at all. I have come to notice that some of the most irritating things some of these guys go through are some of the simplest tasks to complete correctly. Many of these are not even the responsibility of the pilots themselves hence why they have so many errors.